(For circulation among all the members of the Governing Council of AIBPARC, All affiliates and Secretaries of different State Committees)

Re: State Committee of AIBPARC, Odisha Unit, formed in the midst of tremendous enthusiasm on $16^{\rm th}$ November, 2014 at Bhubaneswar.

Dear Comrade,

We have much pleasure to inform all concerned that the State Committee of Odisha was formed today in flying colours. The Foundation Conference was held at "Bhanja Kala Mandap". The hall was packed to capacity with the presence of 250 members. The meeting was presided over by Shri Niranjan Jogania. Welcome address was offered by Shri Gangadhar Dash and vote of thanks was offered by Shri Saroj Kumar Mohanty.

Present and former leaders of different organisations attended the conference. The leaders who greeted the emergence of new body include S/Shri P.K. Swain, President, AIBOC, Odisha Unit; P. Nayak, President, SBIPA, Odisha Unit; Upendra Kumar Dash, Secretary, SBIPA, Odisha; Sabyasachi Swain, State Secretary, AIBOC, etc. All of them promised help and cooperation to the new body. Shri Amit Kumar Motayed, the most familiar face of the city, explained how for several months coordinating efforts have been undertaken by the convenors to provide a solid base to the State Committee at the time of formation. He also clarified certain issues which came before him at the time of interaction with different affiliates.

Com. K.V. Acharya, President, Com. S.R. Sengupta, General Secretary and Com. S. Sarkar, Joint General Secretary attended the conference. In his inaugural address, Com. Sengupta observed that the seeds of AIBPARC were actually sown in the soil of Bhubaneswar when AIBOC decided to float an organisation for the retirees. He observed that the demands of the retirees have got a tremendous publicity after the formation of AIBPARC. He narrated the gist of dialogue with Government officials and recalled the enthusiastic mood of the participants of the Dharna in 2013 and expected that double number of participants would join the Dharna of 2015. Com. Suprita Sarkar, Joint General Secretary, observed that the pensioners of the Banking Sector today needed a well-defined platform for negotiation. It is to be spelt out clearly as to which authority will hear the voice of the retirees. The high hope and the enthusiasm which has been created throughout the country cannot go in vain. After the signing of the 10th Bipartite Settlement, the pensioners might have better days in comparison with what they are experiencing now. Com. K.V. Acharya, the concluding speaker questions Government's right to raise the so called cost factor. He observed that after the switch over of class banking to mass banking, branches were opened at very inconvenient centres and lending the priority sector was insisted upon and implemented with great success. The question of profit is coming only when the benefits to employees are being demanded. He quotes from Pension Regulation to impress upon the fact that the demands have sanctions of the statute. He affirms that the organisation will knock all possible doors to realize the demands.

Several resolutions pertaining to the demands of the retirees were passed by the house. The house also approved a panel of names duly proposed, seconded and placed before the Returning Officer. Com. Niranjan Jogania was elected as the President and Com. A.K. Motayed was elected as the Secretary of the State Unit. We congratulate both of them and also the team of office-bears. It is our high hope that the formation of the State Committee will pave the way for larger consolidation of retirees in the state.

With best wishes,

(S. R. SEN GUPTA)

GENERAL SECRETARY