

ALL INDIA BANK PENSIONERS' & RETIREES' CONFEDERATION

(**A.I.B.P.A.R.C.**)

C/O BANK OF INDIA OFFICERS' ASSOCIATION (EASTERN INDIA BRANCHES) BANK OF INDIA, KOLKATA MAIN BRANCH

23A, NETAJI SUBHAS ROAD, KOLKATA — 700 001 Mobile : 9830403145, E-mail : aibparc@gmail.com

CIRCULAR NO. 12/17. 02.03.2017.

(For circulation among all the members of the Managing Committee as well as the Governing Council of AIBPARC, Special Invitees, State Secretaries and Advisors of AIBPARC.)

Dear Comrades,

Sub: AIBPARC, West Bengal State Committee holds its 2nd Triennial Conference at Kolkata on 1st March, 2017 in the midst of enthusiasm and massive participation.

We have pleasure to inform you that the State Committee of West Bengal held its 2nd Triennial Conference at Krishnapada Ghosh Memorial Hall, on 1st March, 2017. It was encouraging to see that by 10.30 am all delegates and observers from 17 numbers of affiliates were present at the hall. The highlights of the Conference are informed hereunder:

- Shri C.S. Panchadhyay, President of the outgoing committee presided over the function. The dais was formed with the existing Vice-Presidents, all the 5 members of the Governing Council of AIBPARC present in Kolkata and the President of the Federation of UCO Bank Pensioners and Retirees Association.
- One minute silence was observed in memory of noted personalities and also the members of the broader family of AIBPARC who passed away between the last conference and the present one.
- 3. Shri S. Dasgupta, Vice-President, AIBPARC inaugurated the conference. In his initial remarks, he traced the origin and development of the organisation since its birth. He detailed out the issues of the retirees and the struggle initiated and continued by AIBPARC in different forms. He observed that although nothing tangible has been achieved till today, there is no reason to lose heart. The organisation will carry on all its efforts to better the lot of the retirees and appealed to the state committee to carry on its functions in such a manner so that it can have a vibrant role in the entire organisation.
- 4. Shri Pulak Dasgupta, outgoing Secretary (who was officiating for the post of Secretary) submitted his written report; Sri Aparesh Bhattacharya, Treasurer submitted the accounts for last 3 years and resolutions were also placed before the house for discussion, deliberation and adoption. It is a matter of great pleasure that 10 numbers of speakers participated in deliberations. They are Comrades: Kanak Malkhndi (UCO), Bijoy Banerjee (UCO), Pubali Sen (Indian), Swapan Sarkar (BGVB), M. Roy (UBI), Souren Mitra (Indian), Benu Gopal Bhattacharya (SBBJ), Abdul Mokid (UCO), Swapan Mitra (Syndicate) and Kalyan Palit (SBBJ).
- 5. In their deliberations, members covered the following issues: Hardship faced by members for very high premium of mediclaim policy, different kinds of problems faced by them in getting timely reimbursement, how much benefit will be reaped by the retirees by relying too much on UFBU, stepping up of organizational activities by all the retiree organisations of the country so that it draws attention of all concerned, thanking AIBPARC for extending support to the strike of 28th February, 2017, greater initiative of AIBPARC for the issues of RRBs, alleged lack of initiative on the part of AIBPARC to fight against demonetization, alleged failure of the organisation in exposing the nexus between politicians and the corporate which is responsible for huge NPA-creation, non-mentioning of the death of bank people who lost their lives while standing in queues, need of massive dharna at Delhi for consecutive days, serious problems faced by retirees at the time of discharge from hospitals because of delayed response from TPA in certain cases, a few questions on the symbol used by the organisation and what would be the position of our affiliates in associates of SBI which are going to be merged within a few days.
- 6. Shri Pulak Dasgupta replied to some of the queries and requested Shri S. Sarkar, Jt. General Secretary to offer reply to the queries which are meant for the Governing Council of AIBPARC. Shri Sarkar in his elaborate speech offered replies to the queries. Members by show of hands passed the report of the Secretary, the Accounts and the resolutions.
- 7. The President appointed Shri Tarunesh Chatterjee (UBI) as the Returning Officer who declared that he was a delegate and he would not be contesting for any post of the State Committee. He invited panels from members. Shri Subrata Sarkar (UCO) proposed a panel which was duly supported by Shri Shankar Bikas Roy (Allahabad). As there was no other panel, the house unanimously passed the names proposed by Shri Subrata Sarkar and supported by Shankar Bikas Roy. Shri Tridib Charan Choudhury (UCO) has been declared as the President and Shri Suprita Sarkar (UBI) has been declared as Secretary. AIBPARC congratulates the entire team of office bearers and wishes that the state committee would move from strength to strength in days to come.
- 8. Shri Biswanath Bardhan in his vote of thanks expressed gratitude to the members coming from different parts of the state and take part in the proceeding in an enthusiastic way. He thanked the President and Organizing Secretary of the outgoing body for handling the conference in an orderly fashion.
- 9. The state committee further decided that they would hold a general meeting of members on a date in near future convenient to the President and General Secretary of AIBPARC. The house was also informed about deferment of dharna scheduled to be held on 15th March, 2017.

With best wishes,

General Secretary