(For circulation among members of the Governing Council and Secretaries of State Units of AIBPARC)

Dear Comrade,

Sub: Formation of the State Committee of Assam.

- 1. We have much pleasure to inform all concerned that the State Committee of Assam has been formed on 22nd February, 2015. In a formally convened General Meeting held in the afternoon of the day at Sunview Hotel, Guwahati, the names of the leaders chosen unanimously were declared in the meeting and a gathering of nearly 60 members conveyed their acceptance by clapping.
- 2. The meeting was presided over by Com. M.A. Sattar who has been a popular name in the state by virtue of holding the post of AIBOC State Unit for a long time. Other members present on the dais had been Com. Sanatan Das (Joint Convener), Com. M.M. Boro (Joint Convener), Com., Suprita Sarkar (Joint General Secretary), Com. Subrata Dasgupta (Vice-President) and Com. N.K. Pareek (Vice-President). At the beginning, both the conveners placed their reports covering the efforts undertaken by them to contact representatives of various banks for formation of the State Committee. Representatives of 8 Banks were present in the meeting while the nominees from several banks could not be made available. It was also decided in the meeting that several posts of State Committee would be kept vacant for affiliates who would be joining on future dates.
- 3. Com. N.C. Das, Secretary, AIBOC, Assam State was also present in the meeting to greet the formation of the new body. Com. M.A. Sattar in his initial address praised the efforts of several comrades stationed at Guwahati for contacting different organisations as a result of which the long expected day of the formal emergence for the State Unit came. Com. Subrata Dasgupta, Vice-President, obsessived that the organisational enthusiasm of the people of the area is appreciably high and it can be naturally expected that the State Unit would soon become one of the most vibrant Units in the country. Com. N.K. Pareek, Vice President, narrated in details the chronology of events from the Nagpur Conference to the historical Dharna at Jantar Mantar via the 1st General Body at New Delhi. He expressed the hope that the emerging solidarity of Bank retirees would ultimately force IBA to offer formal negotiation status to AIBPARC. Com. S. Sarkar, Joint General Secretary, reported in detail the latest position of the demands of the pensioners and retirees in the current negotiations between IBA and UFBU. He appealed to all units of AIBPARC to stand by the struggle in the midst of which all of us are. Several members participated in deliberations. Their issues were adequately clarified by com. Sarkar.
- 4. The representatives of 7 banks viz. UBI, UCO, Allahabad, Union, Central, BOI and PNB sat for sometime among themselves and amicably decided which post will be filled up by whom and which posts would be kept vacant for the time being. The names were declared and unanimously accepted. Com. Y.R. Patgiri (Central Bank) has been elected as President and Com. M.A. Sattar (Union) has been elected as the Secretary of the State Unit. We congratulate both the leaders and also the team of Office- bearers. We have high hope that the

newly formed body would effectively discharge its function to the satisfaction of the members of the state an maintain proper liaison with all affiliates.
With best wishes,
(S. R. SEN GUPTA)

GENERAL SECRETARY